My First Love (IV)

Kisses and Confrontations.

I didn’t tell my girlfriends.

I was by no means a popular girl but I had a few close friends. I was however, determined to make sure this relationship stayed private and so I didn’t tell them. Not until the kiss at least.

After break time on Fridays we usually had social gathering. This could be in the form of spelling bees, debate competitions, quizzes, club meetings, etc.

I don’t remember which one we had that particular Friday but whichever it was it was done and I had been to the dining for lunch already and so it was time to return to the hostel but my friend remembered that she had forgotten a book in class and so we should pass through the hall to get it back.

Our school class area had all of the classes built in a square. A single story with a roof connecting everything. This meant that there was a wide space at the centre because it was like a single big building. At one end of the square was the stage and this was where these presentations were made. The space was mostly empty except for when these presentations were made and we had to gather the seats. It was a wide space with two entrances.

The back entrance was close to the dining hall and the front entrance was a short distance from our hostel.

The front entrance was usually locked after school so we tried to hurry before this would happen. We also knew that the after school hours were for lovers sneaking around the classes. Everybody knew this.

I didn’t expect to see Kyle there. He should have been in the dinning hall but then I remembered that no one was staring at me so I should have guessed that he might have been there. I didn’t say anything to him or his friends sitting on the stage.

Chisa picked up her books and we made our way to the other entrance that would lead to our hostel.

“Psst. Betty.” He called.

Chisa heard him too, “Oh Kyle is calling you.” she giggled.

I turned around and he waved me over.

I knew what he wanted to do, he’d said as much in the course of our numerous conversations on 2go. He had said I deserved a kiss. What does one do to deserve a kiss?

I noticed his friends leaving, in a few minutes it was just us left. Chisa had left me too.

I don’t know if I’d have stopped him. Perhaps not, because when his lips pressed gently against mine, there were fireworks.

I wasn’t sure if I kept my eyes open or they had fallen shut.

He asked me to stick out my tongue. I didn’t know what else to do so I just let him do as he pleased. He sucked on my tongue and bit down gently. I had started to feel awkward just standing there and so I pulled away.

By the time I got my bearings, he had walked away with his friends. I wasn’t sure how to feel about that but I didn’t give myself time to worry too much as I walked briskly back to my hostel.

Chisa’s first comment upon sighting me was that my lips looked swollen. I wasn’t sure what to say to that but she queried me until I admitted that we had in fact shared a kiss.

Chisa herself had never been kissed before and so she had me explain in detail how it had happened and what it felt like.

“So you just let that boy use you.” she commented at the end of my narration.

Those words weren’t unfamiliar although they had never been directed at me. It conjured images of a soiled napkin that had been used to clean catarrh and then thrown in the trash.

“How?” I questioned.

“Don’t you know he has a girlfriend in his class?” she questioned back. “He has Senior Angel in his class and even in SS2 he has Senior Sharon too. So you you’re now for SS1. I guess he wants to have a girl in every senior class.”

Her words struck me. He had told me he had nothing to do with them. I believed him but if my friend could say this, I wonder what others thought, probably worse. The thought bothered me. I was used to being in the shadows, being scandal free, but now it seemed that would no longer be the case.

I was still thinking of this when I received visitors in my hostel that night. Senior Angel had come calling.

***

Search the blog to read previous installments.

My First “Love” (III)

My First “Love” (II)

My First “Love”.

Published by Chimezunim

Student. Writer. Now Blogger.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started