Bookish: Yinka where is your huzband?

The first part of this review, I wrote it a few chapters in;

This girl is so annoying. I’m sorry but she is. It’s not just that your family wants you to have a husband but you actually do want one.

Yet, in a world where there are so many options, you take none.

You don’t use social media where you can find people around your age and with the same ideals, you don’t use dating apps, you don’t talk to people, even when your family tries to hook you up with someone, you refuse.

What is it that you want?!

You want a man that would fall into your lap? From the sky?

I mean your family even advises you to change church because your current church mostly has old white men but no, you know best. Oya accept it na.

Fair enough, what her family is doing is terrible. All of that pressure is unnecessary but unless you actually want to stay single, I don’t see how you won’t even try to help yourself.

And I’m sick of hearing about the ex!!!
It’s perfectly OK to hate an ex but what is not OK is to keep pining over them. When you’re not a child?!

Cry for forty days and forty nights if you must, but pick up yourself and get back out there. It’s not like you were married and it’s been years but yet you won’t stop?!
Kai! She’s annoying!!!

Then at the end;

I think the moral lesson in this book is that therapy is important.

She did try dating apps and social media at some point and even met the young man her aunt and mum were trying to introduce her to, but I don’t even want to get into that.

I’m just exhausted from this book because it took me so long to finish.

I learnt to sympathise more with the position Yinka was put in but I kept thinking that at a certain age you should be able to stand your ground concerning certain matters. She did at the end, better late than never, I guess.

Did Yinka find a husband then? Well she got a man, it’s uncertain due to the open ending, whether he becomes a husband or not.

Oh the writing itself wasn’t bad at all and I guess the storyline is one that a lot of Nigerian women at a certain age can relate to although her mom and aunts seemed quite extra with all the public prayers.

I think the book was too long. Read it if you want.

Published by Chimezunim

Student. Writer. Now Blogger.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started