Bookish: Nearly all the men in Lagos are mad

I’m going to begin this review from the bottom, the last story, Independence day.

I found the end a little… unrealistic. A Nigerian woman, living in Nigeria, is unlikely to stand up in a public space and point out her rapist. The public outcry would be massive and it’s unlikely that it would be in her favour.

This part, in the entire book, got to me the most.

Another story that got to me was I knew you. It felt too much like someone I know.

This part in particular was a feeling I could relate to because it contributed to my aversion to commitment. That feeling of something else being out there, perhaps something more, a dissatisfaction with the present.


Thankfully, unlike him, I fixed up before it was too late for me.

I read this book because I was seeing it everywhere and the title is quite catchy, so why not?

There were absolutely no happy endings. There were several women that stayed with their partners but none that could actually, definitively, be called a happy ending.

It was an easy read. Maybe I was desensitised and all of the hype had made me expect a lot, but while the stories were interesting, they weren’t particularly exciting.

Being an easy read was both good and bad.

Good because it was an absolute page turner so I could get done quickly (that might also be because it isn’t lengthy).

Bad because it was almost too easy. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for simple descriptions but when you’ve read certain books, it makes others feel so… diluted in their writing style.

So yes, this book was a little too watered down for me. I like to have the books I read, leave me in awe.

Being an easy read and a short story collection and not being particularly lengthy either, makes this book an ideal recommendation for anyone and everyone, including those that aren’t frequent readers.

It’s a debut book so I think that quite promising. Great first attempt.

I’m not going to discuss every single story of course, go read it for yourself.

Read my most recent review here: Bookish: Song of Achilles

Published by Chimezunim

Student. Writer. Now Blogger.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started